Welcome

 

We are a central London Anglican church in the modern, liberal catholic tradition, with very strong local community connections.

 

We believe that God is found in predictable and unexpected places in the life of the city, and our worship and life seeks to reflect this.

 

Our two churches - St John's opposite Waterloo Station and St Andrew's near the Young Vic theatre - have at their heart daily worship.  Our main service - a Parish Eucharist using Common Worship - is at 10.30am on Sundays at St John's.  

 

Along with our regular, diverse congregation, we warmly welcome visitors, and our proximity to King’s College and the LSE means we also aim to offer a broad-based home church for students currently in London.

 

Lou Shepperd RIP

 

 

 

Welcome

We're open again! From Sunday 12th July,  worship will be in church at 9 a.m. and 10.30 a.m. every Sunday as well as virtually. You're very welcome, either in person or online. 

St John the Evangelist, known to many as the church by the roundabout at Waterloo, is a church that is here for everyone. It has stood, since 1824, at the heart of the South Bank and today serves the diverse communities who live in, work in, visit and pass through this busy part of London.

We celebrate the contributions of so many who make Waterloo what it is today -  especially black and minority ethnic people, LGBTI+ people, disabled people and all who have been part of St John's life over the two hundred years we have been here. 

In the midst of our (usually) hectic city, St John’s provides sanctuary, contemplation and spiritual enrichment. In the face of social injustice and deep need, St John’s responds with action. We’re human and spontaneous rather than process-driven - we get things done.

These are difficult times but we can affirm that St John's is very much here for you however we can be.  

To find out what’s happening in and around St John’s, including the Waterloo Festival and The Bridge at Waterloo, sign up for our newsletter

For my daily message of support and contemplation, visit the website here, or follow us on Facebook or Twitter  or contact me at giles@stjohnswaterloo.org

Join our  services on Sundays at 9.00 a.m. and 10.30 a.m. and Morning Prayer at 8.30am every day in church or online  here

From Monday 6th July 2020 St John's is also open daily from 10 am -2pm.

We’d love to see you at our zoom coffee mornings daily at 11am  - click here to chat, share ideas, listen to one another and pray

This is the cruellest kind of crisis because the thing which gives us life - sharing and supporting one another - is the thing which is hardest. These completely unprecedented times demand unprecedented responses, and I am very thankful for the sense of love and mutual support which is already so palpable.  We have created a COVID-19 Resources page here which we hope is helpful 


Will you support us? We are facing a very challenging financial situation as most of our income from lettings and bookings has stopped, and our weekly collections are reduced as the congregation is not coming to the building. Can you make a donation to help us continue to be here for youOne-off donations can be made here.  To set up a standing order, our bank details are here


Our major project to restore St John’s and its crypt, REIGNITE , has had to be put temporarily on hold but our fundraising continues and we are determined that in the not too distant future, we shall be making a start. Carefully restored, this magnificent Grade II* Waterloo landmark will be a building that brings people together to serve each other and celebrate community – something that will be all the more needed once the Covid-19 crisis is over.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

Latest News

Published by Lisa Bewick on Thu, 23 Jul 2020 10:08
News

The Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM) will take place after the 10.30 service on Sunday, 26 July, preceded by the Parish Meeting to elect the churchwardens. ...

Published on Fri, 26 Jun 2020 11:15
News

This isn't goodbye!

Officially there’s only three more days left of festival fun but don’t be disheartened, we’re leaving the website live online so that...

Published on Thu, 25 Jun 2020 18:00
News

St John’s is now open for bookings and with its range of large, adaptable spaces it's the ideal place for your socially distanced event… below are some images of the main spaces in St J...

Published on Sat, 13 Jun 2020 12:10
News

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to St John's from Monday 15th June. 

The Church will...

Published on Fri, 12 Jun 2020 13:20
News

The online Waterloo Festival is still revolving and evolving! Find out more in our latest Newsletter 

Waterloo Festival Newsletter - Friday 12th June

Published on Fri, 5 Jun 2020 11:43
News

The latest Waterloo Festival Newsletter is out, with links to all the amazing things currently live online at the Waterloo Festival - to find out more just click below...

Published on Wed, 6 May 2020 10:00
News

St John's newsletter brings you updates and information about some of the things going on in our now virtual neighbourhood and you’ll find more on the ...

Published on Wed, 6 May 2020 09:34
News

PRESS RELEASE

For immediate release

Tuesday 5th May, 2020

WATERLOO FESTIVAL 2020

GOES VIRTUAL...

Published by Giles Goddard on Mon, 6 Apr 2020 14:58
News

Health & Housing:

Guys’ & St Thomas’ Hospitals; London Ambulance Station;

Waterloo Health Centre; a...

Published on Wed, 1 Apr 2020 11:55
News

If you've been reading Giles' daily blog/email and have enjoyed the mix of prayers, poems, contemplation and up-to-date Covid-19 info then you might like to read all our news in our month...

Published on Fri, 20 Mar 2020 11:53
News

Please join us this Sunday for our special 'Virtual' Mothering Sunday Services. 

You can take part in our 9 ...

Published on Thu, 19 Mar 2020 20:45
News

Message from the vicar, Canon Giles Goddard - 17th March 2020 

In these most difficult of times we want to affirm that St John's is&nbsp...

Published by Giles Goddard on Wed, 18 Mar 2020 07:43
News

St John's has a list of places and people we pray for which runs over a three month cycle. We pray these prayers at 8.30 every morning in St John's. 

Published by Giles Goddard on Sun, 1 Mar 2020 08:28
News

We're delighted to welcome the Commonwealth Resounds! for a special service on Sunday 15th March at 11 a.m.  ...

Published on Wed, 5 Feb 2020 17:30
News

Book a table at our coffee morning and table-top sale

Monday 24th February

11am to 2pm (set up 1...

Published on Wed, 15 Jan 2020 18:00
News

On Tuesday February 25th, St John’s Waterloo will hold a Race Night for ReIgnite 2021. ...

Published on Tue, 17 Dec 2019 14:34
News

Giles Goddard on Robert Elms Show

Published on Tue, 10 Dec 2019 14:17
News

Diaries out: Friday 17th January is the first-ever Reignite Take Top Sale

Published on Sun, 8 Dec 2019 08:10
News

Join us this Sunday at 10.30am, to hear Bach’s Advent Cantata 147, with soloists, trumpet and oboe. 

Published on Wed, 4 Dec 2019 12:21
News

Welcome to the first edition of our Reignite newsletter. The purpose is simple: to keep you informed about the imminent renovatio...

Published on Tue, 3 Dec 2019 18:39
News

Date: Saturday 11th January 2020

Time: 2-5pm today

St John's Waterloo


Join us as we open the church for our annua...

Published on Wed, 27 Nov 2019 12:44
News

Join us for a beautiful service, with choirs, brass and organ! 

Published on Tue, 19 Nov 2019 19:32
News

Hans Feibusch wall painting at St John's comes under the spotlight

Published on Thu, 31 Oct 2019 00:00
News

Bookings are now open for a rip-roaring New Year Ceilidh in support of transforming St John's Waterloo.

Published by Giles Goddard on Wed, 16 Oct 2019 15:45
News

Journeying in the Margins: a Parish Quiet Day on Saturday 30th November from 10.00am to 5.00pm at the Royal Foundation of St Katharine in Limehouse, a few minutes' walk from Li...

Published on Tue, 15 Oct 2019 13:08
News

Silent walkers continue, despite ban.

Published on Mon, 7 Oct 2019 16:05
News

Carbon-neutral crypt taking shape as plans for redevelopment move forward.

Published by Giles Goddard on Tue, 1 Oct 2019 09:52
News

St John's supported the Climate Strike on 20th September and is supporting the Extinction Rebellion actions planned for 7th October.  

Published on Wed, 25 Sep 2019 12:04
News

Calling young artists: Christmas Art Competition is open.

Vicar's Blog

Published on Thu, 6 Aug 2020 14:37
Vicar's Blog

Today is the Feast of the Transfiguration of Jesus.  The narrative begins with a journey.  Jesus took Peter, Jo...

Published on Tue, 4 Aug 2020 18:08
Vicar's Blog
Published on Fri, 31 Jul 2020 11:23
Vicar's Blog

Published on Thu, 23 Jul 2020 11:30
Vicar's Blog
Published on Wed, 15 Jul 2020 10:23
Vicar's Blog
Published on Tue, 14 Jul 2020 08:48
Vicar's Blog

Dear all 


It was lovely to see so many of you on Sunday, either virtually or in real life. I am pleased that the technology worked as it did and the feedback I've receiv...

Published on Thu, 9 Jul 2020 16:05
Vicar's Blog
Published on Tue, 7 Jul 2020 15:16
Vicar's Blog

Dear all 


Thanks for the feedback and response to Sunday's sermon. If you missed it, it can be read ...

Published on Sat, 4 Jul 2020 13:05
Vicar's Blog

Dear all 

We have had four sermons in a row on the relationship between faith and action. It's felt very much as though we are engaging seriously in the challenges the w...

Published on Thu, 2 Jul 2020 12:14
Vicar's Blog

You might remember that near the beginning of lockdown, the Vicar mowed the churchyard grass - the building was closed and 'Stay home - protect the NHS - save lives' was the mes...

Published on Wed, 24 Jun 2020 14:55
Vicar's Blog

Dear all


Today's the day for your brains to be crunched into gear and your fingers on the buttons... the first St John's Waterloo virtual online zoom QUIZ starts at 6.30.&nbsp...

Published on Tue, 23 Jun 2020 11:07
Vicar's Blog
Published on Sat, 20 Jun 2020 13:42
Vicar's Blog
Published on Thu, 18 Jun 2020 10:31
Vicar's Blog

Published on Mon, 15 Jun 2020 16:49
Vicar's Blog
Published on Fri, 12 Jun 2020 12:49
Vicar's Blog

Breath has featured in our sermons on the last two Sundays, and it's something that both Giles and I have encouraged you to think about....

Published on Thu, 11 Jun 2020 17:18
Vicar's Blog

"Patience is a virtue" - or so my Grandma tells me.  I'm not always good at being patient, at waiting.  And the past weeks (since the beginning of lockdown, really) have felt like a time ...

Published on Wed, 10 Jun 2020 12:23
Vicar's Blog

Published on Mon, 8 Jun 2020 13:43
Vicar's Blog
Published on Thu, 4 Jun 2020 13:34
Vicar's Blog

© 2020 Borussia Monchengladbach
Published on Thu, 4 Jun 2020 11:59
Vicar's Blog

Hello,


It's been lovely to have lots of you joining us for services via Zoom.  If you've been able to be at the 10:30 services, you'll know that the clergy can now go back into ...

Published on Tue, 2 Jun 2020 21:55
Vicar's Blog
Published on Sun, 31 May 2020 19:49
Vicar's Blog

Dear all


Happy Pentecost! 


Don't forget, if you're joining us for worship, to wear something red - and, for the 1...

Published on Fri, 29 May 2020 09:51
Vicar's Blog
Published on Mon, 25 May 2020 12:48
Vicar's Blog
Published on Thu, 21 May 2020 14:33
Vicar's Blog
Published on Tue, 19 May 2020 09:47
Vicar's Blog

Published on Mon, 18 May 2020 09:33
Vicar's Blog

Dear all 


Yesterday's contretemps with Zoom drove home to me how vital human contact is, in this time of lockdown. I could see, as host, the repeated attempts to log in,...

Published on Fri, 15 May 2020 09:40
Vicar's Blog
Published on Thu, 14 May 2020 14:54
Vicar's Blog

Today's newsletter is even later than my usual ones, I think.  That's because this morning, I've been to the monthly curates' training (via Zoom).  As part of that, I spent some...

Our most recent tweets.....

Latest news from Facebook

 

Parish Magazine

 

Column Inches is now online!  Click here for August's edition featuring reflections on Journeying - through lockdown, before and beyond - 

Click below to read the May 2020  issue of the Monthly Parish Magazine Column Inches 

 

Previous issues of Column Inches can be read by clicking here.

Image credits: