Waterloo Festival

Short Film Score Composition Competition 2013


In conjunction with Southbank Sinfonia

Winners and Runners-Up

In 2013 the competition ran for the first time and attracted entries from across the UK and internationally. There were two categories: (1) clarinet quintet and (2) electronic (where at least one instrument had to be synthesised). The winner and runner-up from each category are listed below.

Clarinet Quintet Category
Winner: Chris Roe

Chris Roe is a freelance composer, pianist and teacher, currently living in London. He graduated from Manchester University in 2010 and has recently completed a Masters at the Royal College of Music, studying with Kenneth Hesketh and Vasco Hexel, and receiving the RCM Adrian Cruft Prize for composition. Chris has a diverse range of musical interests with recent projects including a chamber opera for the RCM Opera School and Tête à Tête, a piece for youth orchestra and projected film, and work on 51 Prod.’s recent film (shortlisted for Cinesonika’s Golden Earwax Award!). He has recently founded the ANIMA Collective, bringing together composers, performers and animators for a live music and film event in September. Chris is currently Graduate Music Assistant at Sevenoaks School and Apprentice Composer for the Orchestra of the Swan, and recently received second prize in the international Witold Lutoslawski Composition Competition.


Runner-Up: Will Temlett

Will Temlett is a composer for motion picture. He is currently finishing his Masters in Composition for the Screen at the Royal College of Music in London, where he is generously supported by the HR Taylor Trust Award. Will was commissioned in 2012 to write a new feature-length score for live performance to the silent film classic, The Great White Silence, which documents real-life footage from Scott’s Antarctic expedition. The music, written for harp, string trio, clarinet and electronics, was performed to picture at the Hackney Picture House in June 2012. In August 2012, Will was a finalist in Film4’s Summer Screen Competition to write an introductory music track for the annual event at Somerset House. Alongside this, Will has composed for a number of short films and animations, collaborating with students from the Royal College of Art, the London Film School and the Met Film School.


Electronic Category
Winner: Jardar Westvik

Jardar Westvik was originally a guitarist with a background in jazz and has toured extensively in Russia, Sweden, Norway, Germany and France. Jardar was educated at Tromsø Music Conservatory (University of Tromsø, Norway), Royal Academy of Music in Aarhus (Denmark), Norwegian Academy of Music (Oslo) and Goldsmiths College in London. Recent years have brought Jardar more into different crossover genres, from electronic pop music and noise, to sonic art and installation-based works. Extensive work for film and moving image was also undertaken as a part of his Masters degree at Goldsmiths College. Jardar combines his guitar, stomp boxes and computer into one big instrument and seeks to explore new and untraditional ways of applying all of this when composing and performing.

Runner-Up: Joe Rodwell

Joe Rodwell is a composer/arranger, producer, and trumpeter based in West London. His start in music came with joining the local scout band, with which he quickly developed as a trumpet player. He started arranging for the group during his early teens, becoming the lead arranger at the age of 17. During his late teens he developed a keen interest in music technology, studying first at City of Bristol College before undertaking a Music Tech degree at the London College of Music. Since leaving the LCM in 2007, Joe has become a successful freelance musician, composing music for short films, documentaries, and library companies, arranging for various ensembles, and performing as both a live and session musician playing various instruments. More recently Joe has been working as a producer and arranger for a number of upcoming songwriters and performers.


Cast and Crew of WaterlooWaterloo 2013

Directed by Si Allen and Adam Greves

Director of Photography: Ewan Mulligan

Steadicam Operator: Paul Thomson

Camera Assistant: Otto Banovits

Producer and 1st Assistant Director: Kaye Affresco

2nd Assistant Director: Faz Buffery

Producer: Andy Thomas

Our thanks to Southbank Sinfonia who provided the clarinet quintet



Paul Asmar (lead)

Kaye Affresco

Faz Buffery

James Davies

Theresa Dike

Alexander Almonte Lalli

Roberta McCaughan



Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.